Somerset County Council

Somerset County Council is based at its County Hall offices in Taunton.  As the name implies, the area it covers is the whole of Somerset.  Services it is responsible for providing or can help with:

  • Education – including special educational needs, school transport
  • Highways – maintenance, on-street parking, road closures etc.
  • Adult Social Care
  • Social Services – adults, children, domestic abuse (also the police)
  • Trading Standards
  • Animal Health and Welfare
  • Libraries
  • Bus services – bus passes
  • Blue badges for parking – issuing
  • Registry Offices & Registrar of Births, Marriages and Deaths
  • Historic records –
  • Public transport – park & ride, bus information etc.

There are 54 county councillors.  Hugh Davies is the only County Councillor for the Watchet & Stogursey Ward which includes the parishes of Williton, Watchet and Sampford Brett.